Leeno Dee

Department of Gloom

Leeno Dee

Leeno Dee has been professionally playing bass since the late ‘80s when as a member of glam rockers Candy Harlots he penned the alternative charts #2 single ‘Dangerʼ before signing with Virgin Records, releasing an album (‘Five Wicked Waysʼ ARIA #30,) and several ARIA top 20 singles.

Over the years Dee has toured with artists such as AC/DC, Killing Joke, Ace Frehley, Disturbed, Sepultura, Sevendust, Marilyn Manson, Divinyls, Skid Row and many more. In the 2000s Dee was a member of industrial heavyweights Jerk, releasing their Sony Music ‘When Pure Is Defiledʼ album (Aria National Top 30), along with two 2JJJFM #1 singles. Dee has also clocked up a wealth of studio time recording and mixing in studios around Australia and LA, working with such notable producers as Mack (Queen, Black Sabbath, Extreme), Sean Beavan (Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, Slayer), and Mark Opitz (INXS, AC/DC, Cold Chisel), among others.

In 2016 Dee formed Department of Gloom - the first of his outfits to feature himself on lead vocals along with his trusty bass. After trying several brands of bass strings he settled on Rotosound:

“They sound 100% more alive than all the others, responsive, twangy and present, while managing to sound fat and real - theyʼre on all my basses now."

Department of Gloomʼs eponymously titled debut album was released July 13 2023 on all streaming platforms and on vinyl and CD through new Sydney based label Andromeda Records with a tour to coincide through 2023/24.